Déjà Disparu

Déjà Disparu

藝術門,香港

何兆基、鮑藹倫、黃志恆、余偉建

此次展覽主題「Déjà Disparu」源自著名文化理論家Ackbar Abbas所著,關於香港上世紀90年代文化政治的《香港—文化和政治的消失》(’Hong Kong: Culture and the Politics of Disappearance’)一書。「Déjà disparu」與「déjà vu」 不同的是,後者強調的是當下的體驗與過往的體驗不謀而合,而Ackbar Abbas 對「Déjà Disparu」定義為:“對於這種處境,那種一直以來的新奇特別的感覺已經不在了,我們所剩下的只有一堆陳詞濫調,或者一堆從未有過的回憶。這個就好像是目前一件事情的發生速度造成了一種嚴重的不同步。[i]

就像自動播放的電影,無論我們喜歡與否,電影都會隨著自己的敘述和速度前進。我們四周的環境像精神分裂症似的不停轉變,其實已將人類的蹤跡隱藏起來,導向逆向幻覺。著作的論述圍繞對城市中間所作的否認,充分說明了上世紀90年代香港的文化政治。藝術家何兆基、鮑藹倫、黃志恆、余偉建的作品探討了人們對於城市空間裡發生的變化所產生的麻木感,並提出了不同的應對模式以克服「後殖民」身份的空間歷史感。

隨著這個邏輯思維,「Déjà Disparu」 通過各種媒介的作品,反映了一種介於想像和回歸之間狀態的超負荷經驗。這好比表達了即渴望逃離,卻又被困住的感受,而所有的物體和對藝術的解讀都變得毫無生氣,猶如影像定格的景觀。此次展覽將批判對象延伸至各個領域:從電影空間到住宅空間、從如露天劇場般的城市空間到允許與自身溝通的私人空間。無論城市空間變得如何同質化(這是一個目前還在持續的過程),這些往往被忽略的藝術家展出的作品,使我們以不同的方式正視記憶缺失,而這一動力源於人們渴望保留一個創造和生存的空間。

  1. 走進畫廊,我們看見的是投影在牆面結合文字的影像。鮑藹倫的《為了某些原因》 (2003) 是引用了香港特區前行政長官在針對《基本法》第23條的草擬時所說的一段話。就香港境內有關國家安全,「第二十三條」條文的起草允許政府依法判決叛國或顛覆政府的個人和政治性組織。「第二十三條」立法過程引起香港各界反對,引發了一次反對立法的大遊行,最終暫時終止立法程序。鮑藹倫表示:“《為了某些原因》探討了比喻修辭法。每一個漢字就是都是不同的面孔,每個面孔又有不同的故事,把不同的面孔放在一起,又會是一個不一樣的故事。”影像大部分拍攝於德國柏林,並以蒙太奇的方式將城市景象竪直地呈現於螢幕。影像裡出現的中文短句,表達了強烈的消極性和悲觀主義,比如:撈不起、留不起、吹不起。《為了某些原因》表達了我們日常生活裡和特定城市裡強行的意識形態之間不可能達成的共識,以及兩者之間日益擴大的差距。
  1. 何兆基深諳希臘神話和法國現象學,他認為身體僅僅是人們感知的工具。通自身和不同的人造構造物的接觸,他的作品解釋了我們與世界的關係。在《地心吸力環》 (1996) 中,何兆基將自己倒掛在一個環形不鏽鋼裝置中,引發人們思考地心吸力的存在,即認為這是一個限制真實面貌的物理狀態。如此挑釁的行為讚揚的是人們嚮往自我審視的私人空間和寂靜。
  1. 為了體驗城市中實時實地發生的變化,黃志恆的《在地定向》(1998)質問了地圖裡模糊的表達,也探究了我們於穩定的城市地形上前行的可能性。在香港的鳥瞰地圖上,黃志恆從她所標注的中心點,向四個方位畫直線,並沿著這四條路線出發,紀錄實地周圍的事物。當預定路線遇上障礙物,黃志恆會沿著就近空地繼續完成路線。作者不出現在鏡頭前,似乎在吸引觀眾一同參與她穿梭於城市裡的漫遊行為。此次展覽中,為了打亂畫廊空間的定向方位,黃志恆將她在1998年的一次向西方向徒步紀錄投影在畫廊的天花板上。此外,黃志恆也將製作新版《在地定向》(2013),沿著曾在1998年走過的路線前行,藉此感受城市裡發生的實際變化。
  1. 與《地心吸力環》(1996) 強調的靜止不動不同,《飛行機器》(1995-1996) 是機械設備和人體的一個不合理配置。置放於以城市景觀作為背景的一扇大窗前,觀眾可親身體驗該裝置。這樣的假想飛行行為,意味著自由,或想從現實裡逃離的意念。事實上,這個能活動的雕塑是在反駁基於人口和信息的流動性,而日漸虛擬的環境,所作出的批判。
  1. 余偉建自1989年於美聯社從事新聞攝影工作。本次展出的兩個紀實攝影作品系列,揭示了一段更客觀的香港社會歷史。作品系列《我住石硤尾》中的黑白照片記錄了居住在現已幾乎完全拆除的香港石硤尾邨老居民的正面肖像照。石硤尾邨為前殖民政府在1953年建造的第一套香港公共房屋。余偉建細緻地記錄了很多老一輩市民在狹小空間裡的艱苦生活,與此同時,這些居民又以他們自身的歸屬感印證了歷史的蹤跡。另一作品系列《HKG》集合了余偉建從上世紀80年代至90年代的作品,記錄了香港1997年回歸前後的社會事件。他的視覺日記結合了展覽中其他藝術家強調“一瞬即逝”的作品,為觀眾呈現了一份具爭議性的簡略回顧。
  1. 鮑藹倫的《循環影院》(1999)是一個顛覆電影敘事結構的單頻影像,作品表達了人們如何接受和適應虛無縹緲的城市發展。鮑藹倫在繁忙的香港港島東區走廊高速公路上,平移著攝錄機追蹤拍攝行駛過的車輛。當攝錄機的速度和某一輛行駛中的汽車速度相同時,該車輛被短暫地定格在鏡頭中,然後在下一瞬間隨著車輛加速而淡出人們的視線。接著,藝術家將視線鎖定在另一輛車,似乎完全忘記之前所見。這樣的觀察行為,是無法預知命運中單調的盲目動作。我們對於城市周圍的理解也只是一系列扁平的圖像,而這些圖像永遠禁不起我們更進一步的審視,既定的敘事必須不斷向前發展。
  1. 畫廊空間的另一端是鮑藹倫在1989年「六四」事件發生一年後製作的影像《兩頭唔到岸》(1990)。作品採用了來自香港政府檔案處歷史檔案館,上世紀60年代香港橫渡維多利亞海港比賽的舊新聞片段。我們從影像中看見一群游泳健將以慢動作方式跳入海港。突然這項比賽的場景突然切換成一名游泳教練在泳池中進進出出。下一幕我們看到顛倒拍攝的一位不知名的人物跌倒在路面,一份揉成羊頭形狀正在燃燒的報紙從梯級下行。《兩頭唔到岸》探索了一座移民城市裡因為缺少歸屬感而產生的集體空虛。當遇到政治不確定性或危機時,這些候鳥般的市民都將逃走。
  1. 《溜》(1988)記錄了杜子卿的一次行為表演。靈感源自香港的狹窄街道,這部影片記錄了在藝穗會裡的狹窄走道另一端燃燒的一把火焰。看似是微不足道的威脅也構不成即時的危險,人們於是完全無視了燃燒的火焰。然而,漸漸熄滅的火焰表示了自我消耗,以及我們對辨別有形和無形的、敢言和默不作聲之間關係的冷漠。
  1. 何兆基的《立於水平線上》(2011) 主張的是,無論世界變得如何動蕩和不可預知,人類霸權始終主導世界。平定的背景喚起香港的歷史:由港口都市發展成現今我們認為是理所當然的金融中心城市。我們已無法在一個被跨過資本控制並充斥著陳詞濫調的領土上,通過人體尋找甚麼是精神上的和永久的。水平線可以是一個經歷了時間但從未改變的永久記號,立於水平線上影射了我们基本的求生本能。
  1. 《城市碑紀丨碑紀城市》(1998) 批判權力中心及權力邊緣化一方,兩者間的二元權力關係,這是在上世紀90年代經濟全球化影響下的“身份政治”課題的關鍵討論。以絲網印製法將香港的城市地圖刻在四塊鋼結構轉盤上,黃志恆用仿珍珠在轉盤表面標定了香港的重要地標。當平台轉動時,我們無法讀取在地圖上任何一個靜態的信息,每個地方、每個地區,甚至轉盤的數據已變得模糊。相對的,該身份概念是取決於與全球經濟保持同步。

策展人:陳浩揚

鍾齡慧  譯


[i] Ackbar Abbas, Hong Kong- Culture and the Politics of Disappearance (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997), 25-26.

installation-title copy installation-EllenPau-Diversion copyinstallation-HoSiuKee copy installation-VincentYu copy installation-EllenPau-Recycling Cinema copy installation-HoSiuKee-FlyingMachine copy installation-HoSiuKee-FlyingMachine-2 copy installation-VincentYu-OurHomeShekKipMei copy DDinstallation1 copy DDinstallation2 copy

Déjà Disparu

Déjà Disparu

 

Pearl Lam Galleries, Hong Kong

Artists: Ho Siu-Kee, Ellen Pau, Sara Wong, Vincent Yu

The exhibition title Déjà Disparu takes its reference from Hong Kong: Culture and the Politics of Disappearance, a seminal book on Hong Kong’s cultural politics of the 1990s written by the reputable cultural theorist Ackbas Abbas. Unlke déjà vu, in which a present experience coincides with the one from the past, Déjà Disparu is defined by Abbas as: “the feeling that what is new and unique about the situation is always already gone, and we are left holding a handful of clichés, or a cluster of memories of what has never been. It is as if the speed of a current event is producing a radical desynchronization.” [1]

Like a film on auto pilot that progresses with its own narrative and speed whether we like it or not, the schizophrenic alteration of our immediate surroundings has hidden all human traces to the extent that a reverse hallucination is taking place. This master narrative that seems to deny the very authorship of our urban space may best define the context for cultural production in Hong Kong during the 1990s. Artists Ho Siu-Kee, Ellen Pau, Sara Wong, and Vincent Yu confront our numbness with spatial changes, and propose different strategies to recuperate a consciousness with spatial history that is central to the post colonial identity.

Following this logic, Déjà Disparu simulates an overloaded experience with different media – including objects, photographs, video installations and projection – in part to stage a regressive state that oscillates between hallucination and reality. As a result Déjà Disparu conveys a contradiction of wanting to escape yet being contained; whereby the reading of art as objects becomes flattened and takes on the visual qualities of a film still. The critique of places in this exhibition extends towards diverse spheres, from a cinematic space to a dwelling space, urban space as an open theatre to a private refuge for mediating with our body. Regardless of how generic the urban space has become (a process that is still very much happening in the present) the artworks by these often overlooked individuals offer insights into ways of confronting with amnesia, for the impetus to define what is personal is fueled by a strong desire to preserve a space for survival and creativity.

  1. When entering the gallery, we see a video of texts and images projected onto a glass wall. Pau’s video For Some Reasons (2003) is named after a phrase used by the former chief executive of HKSAR when dealing with the proposal of Article 23 of the Basic law. In the name of protecting national security, Article 23 was introduced to grant the government power to persecute suspected individuals or political organisations of treason or subversion. Article 23 was met with massive public outcry, soon followed by a large-scale protest and this law was shelved indefinitely. Pau states: “For Some Reasons starts with the exploration of the figure of speech. Every Chinese character is a face; each face has a story. Put the faces together you end up having another story.” Shot mostly in Berlin and presented in montage style with images of the cityscape stretching vertically across the screen, the Chinese phrases included in the video convey a strong sense of negativity and pessimism, e.g. cannot afford to eat, not able to think, cannot afford to lose. For Some Reasons expresses the impossibility of reaching a consensus, and the growing gaps between our everyday lives and the enforcement of an ideology in an ad-hoc city state.
  1. Well versed in Greek mythology and in French phenomenology, Ho Siu-Kee considers the body as a tool for our perception. It is through the body’s timely engagement with different man-made structures that reveals our relationships with the world. In Gravity Hoop (1996), the artist suspends himself upside down inside a large scale circular stainless steel apparatus and asks us to ponder on gravity, a fundamental physical condition that has limited the appearance of our reality. Such a defiant act champions stillness and the longing for a private space for introspection.
  1. Opting to experience the changes of the city in real time and place, Local Orientation (1998) by Sara Wong interrogates the elusive representation of maps and our ability to navigate through a stable urban terrain. By drawing four straight lines along the four cardinal directions on a bird’s eye map of Hong Kong from a determined centre, Wong proceeded to walk along the set trajectories on actual location to document what was happening around her. When a building along the set journey became an obstruction, Wong would then proceed to the nearest open space to continue with the set path. The absence of the author from the camera invites the beholder to participate in her in situ performance as a flâneur. In an attempt to disorient the directional bearing of the gallery, Wong will project one of her walking tours from 1998 (west direction) onto the ceiling of the gallery. Furthermore, Wong will make a new version of Local Orientation (2013) by traversing along the same path as she did in 1998 to differentiate the actual physical changes of the city.
  1. In sharp contrast with Gravity Hoop (1996) that emphasises stillness, Flying Machine (1995-1996) is an absurd juxtaposition of a rigid mechanical device and the human body. Displayed in front of a large window with the cityscape as the backdrop, audiences are invited to try out this device on their own under supervision. The imaginary exercise of flying connotes freedom or own will to escape from reality. In fact, this mobile sculpture is a satire that refutes an increasingly dematerialised environment predicated on mobility of people and information.
  1. Vincent Yu has worked as a photojournalist for Associated Press since 1989. His documentary photographs in this exhibition inscribe a more objective social history of Hong Kong. Two series of photographs are on display. The first series of black and white photographs is composed of mostly frontal portraitures of the long time inhabitants of the now mostly demolished and redeveloped Shek Kip Mei Estate, the oldest public housing estate in Hong Kong built by the former colonial government in 1953. Yu captures meticulously the hardness of life of different elderly people living inside a cramped quarter, yet they are assured with their own sense of place in history. The second series of photographs is titled HKG. It is a series of photographs Yu took from the 1980s to 1990s recording different events leading up to the pre and post-1997 handover. Yu’s visual diaries provide an abbreviated chronology which binds the ephemeral artworks by other artists together in this exhibition in a provocative manner.
  1. Subverting the narrative structure of film, Ellen Pau’s Recycling Cinema (1999) is a single channel video installation that signifies our compliance with a master temporality central to urban development. Pau tracks a moving vehicle on the busy Island Eastern Corridor highway with a panning video camera. The moment the panning speed of the video camera matches with the one of a moving car, the vehicle is held captive for a brief moment only to accelerate out of sight during the next instant. The artist then targets another vehicle on the opposite lane, only to have forgotten the one she saw seconds ago. The act of viewing is a monotonous exercise of blind fate, the reading of our surroundings is merely a series of flattened images that can never be held captive for closer scrutiny, for the set narrative must move forward.
  1. Moving towards the opposite end of the gallery is a video titled Diversion (1990) produced by Pau one year after the June 4th incident in 1989. Pau incorporates old footages from the government’s Public Record Office of the cross harbour swimming contest popular during the 1960s. In the video, we witness a flock of swimmers jumping into the harbour in slow motion; this once popular scene is then intercut with a swimming instructor jumping in and out of the water in a swimming pool. The scene is then followed by an anonymous figure falling onto a cobble stone pavement shot upside down and a burning newspaper goat head descending a staircase. Diversion delves into the collective void of a migrant city deprived of a sense of belonging. The transient subject must flee in times of political uncertainty or crisis.
  1. Drained (1988) documents a performance by Hiram To. Inspired by the narrow streets of Hong Kong, this video records from opposite ends a burning flame in a narrow corridor inside the Fringe club. The flame is a negligible threat that poses no imminent danger to anyone therefore we can ignore it altogether. Yet the diminishing flame speaks of total self- exhaustion and our numbness to discern the differences between the material and immaterial, the spoken and muted.
  1. City Monument/ Monument City (1998) is critical of the binary power relation between the centre and periphery, central to the discussion of identity politics under the influences of economic globalisation during the 1990s. Using silk screening technique to inscribe a map of Hong Kong on the top of four steel circular turntables, Wong attaches fake pearls to demarcate noteworthy Hong Kong landmarks on the sculpture’s surfaces. Individual turntables revolve continuously handicap any static reading of the given map, thereby blurring the reading of a place, a territory, or instrument. Instead, its identity is predicated on synchronising with the clock of the global economy.
  1. Standing Above the Water Level (2011) by Ho upholds the ideal of human hegemony, no matter how turbulent and unpredictable the world is becoming. The pacifying backdrop brings to mind the history of Hong Kong; its development from a seaport to its current role as a financial capital is something we have all taken for granted. To seek what is spiritual and eternal through the human body is no longer possible in a territory infiltrated with clichés and controlled by transnational capitals. The sea water level may be the only permanent marker that has not changed through time and to stand above it is to allude to our basic survival instinct.

 

David Ho Yeung Chan

July 16, 2013

 

Edited by Liesl Cheng


[1] Ackbar Abbas, Hong Kong- Culture and the Politics of Disappearance (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997), 25-26.

installation-title copy   installation-EllenPau-Diversion copy   installation-SaraWong-CityMonumentMonumentCity copy installation-HoSiuKee copy installation-VincentYu copy installation-EllenPau-Recycling Cinema copy installation-HoSiuKee-FlyingMachine copy installation-HoSiuKee-FlyingMachine-2 copy installation-VincentYu-OurHomeShekKipMei copy DDinstallation1 copy DDinstallation2 copy