2023年3月20日至2023年6月21日

《太陽出來了》: 辛⻄婭·波爾斯基個展

香港

概要

香港——藝術門榮幸首次呈獻紐約藝術家辛西婭·波爾斯基(生於1939年)的個展《太陽出來了》。展出的一系列大型繪畫和紙本作品均於1963至1974年間創作,反映出藝術家對於亞洲精神、美學及傳統的興趣。儘管當時概念藝術運動開始崛起,波爾斯基作為一名女性藝術家,在戰後美國藝術的主導敘事之外仍開闢出自己獨特的創作方向。

辛西婭·波爾斯基是一位活躍於1960和70年代紐約的畫家,那個時代以層出不窮的抽象表現主義和色域繪畫而聞名。但波爾斯基的作品有別於當時盛行的風格,她以其回憶和生活經歷作為靈感來源。值得一提的是,波爾斯基對芭蕾舞深有研究,亦喜愛前往東亞、南亞旅遊。作品基於藝術家熱衷的領域微妙地滲透著潛意識情感和豐富的想像力。藝術家說:“我覺得我的畫作要回家了。不知何解,我認為它們都是屬於亞洲的。”

展覽名稱《太陽出來了》是借用了波爾斯基在1974年完成的一幅大型作品的名稱,也體現出藝術家對創作自由的興趣,這源於她對東方傳統的瞭解以及她在印度金奈、斯里蘭卡、日本等地旅行時所經歷的各地對於普遍性的不同看法。那些色彩飽滿濃郁又帶有難以捉摸的抽象形式的作品深受傳統印度藝術影響,尤其是16和19世紀的拉傑普特細密畫與莫臥兒細密畫,而垂直構圖的《彩色的小瀑布》系列會讓觀者聯想到中國的水墨山水畫和日本書法。

在編舞家喬治·巴蘭欽(George Balanchine)的當代芭蕾舞重點培訓下,波爾斯基以身體作為一種繪畫媒介,採納當代芭蕾舞的肢體語言應用於作品。她經常邊聽古典音樂邊作畫,在不同積木支撐的不平坦地面或表面上放置塗有底漆和未拉伸的畫布,並本能地以輕快的速度使用小海綿或中國毛筆等工具沾上丙烯創作,再懸掛起畫布讓顏料向下滴落。她的作品被形容為抒情表現主義,身體的動靜被描繪成一種停滯或暫緩的狀態。波爾斯基將自然視為永恆的作品主題,並在畫作中探索自然景致。她說:“人在大自然中看到的萬物,無論是最簡單的還是最複雜的,它們都是我的想像力源泉。”她還記得小時候在穿越美國的火車上觀察與自然與光線的互動。

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.

20 March–21 June, 2023

HERE COMES THE SUN: A Solo Exhibition by Cynthia Polsky

Hong Kong

Overview

Hong Kong—Pearl Lam Galleries is pleased to present Here Comes the Sun, its first solo exhibition by New York-based artist Cynthia Polsky (b. 1939). On display is a selection of large-scale paintings and works on paper conceived between 1963–1974 that reflect the artist’s personal interest in the spirituality, aesthetics and traditions of Asia. With the rise of the conceptual art movement during Polsky’s active years as a painter, it is an interesting departure to look back at her time as a women artist who carved out her own creative direction that was outside of the dominant narratives of postwar American art of the time.

Cynthia Polsky was an active painter in the 1960s and 70s in New York, a time which is known for the prolific rise of abstract expressionism and colour field painting. Working independently from the art scene prevalent at the time, Polsky’s practice instead relied on her memories and lived experiences as sources of inspiration, most prominently the artist’s study of ballet and transformative travels to East and South Asia. This has resulted in a body of work that captures the nuances of an artist’s subconscious and imagination. The artist stated, “I feel these paintings of mine are going home. Somehow, they belong to Asia.”

The exhibition title Here Comes the Sun is borrowed from Polsky’s large-scale painting completed in 1974. It also reflects her interest in creative freedom, which is rooted in her knowledge of Eastern traditions and their respective views on universality which she experienced while travelling to Chennai, Sri Lanka, Japan, and beyond. The artist’s colour-saturated palette that invokes elusive, abstract forms is influenced by traditional Indian art, in particular 16th and 19th century Rajput and Mughal paintings, while vertically composed works like Chromatic Cascade I, II, IV are reminiscent of Chinese landscape ink paintings and Japanese calligraphy. 

Vigorously trained in the choreographer George Balanchine’s contemporary ballet technique, Polsky approached movement in the body as a form of mediation which she applied to her painting technique. Often painting while listening to classical composers, Cynthia would apply acrylic paint onto a primed and unstretched canvas laid across the floor or surface that was propped up with building blocks in different sections to create an uneven surface. Working instinctively and at a brisk pace, using tools like small sponges or Chinese ink brushes, Polsky would then hang the work to allow the paint to drip downwards. Describing her work as lyrical expressionism, movement is depicted in statis or suspended in motion. She saw nature as a timeless subject and also explored landscapes in her paintings. Polsky also stated, “The forms one sees in nature, from the simplest to the most elaborate, were central to my imagination.” As a child, she remembers travelling on a cross-country train in America, looking at the interplay between nature and light.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.