Mr Doodle (B. 1994)

Mr Doodle (B. 1994)

外号Mr Doodle山姆・考克斯生于1994年的英格兰肯特郡。 2012年在西英格兰大学主修插画,期间创建标志人物Mr Doodle先生,构建出一套被他称为“Doodle World”新的视觉体系,以病菌般无限繁衍的密集字符和图形表现出他对世界有关可能性的构想。

自2015年起,Mr Doodle在艺术界获得广泛认可,作品也随即变得炙手可热。站在新世代艺术浪潮的最前沿,他的社交媒体同样备受瞩目,席卷了线上艺术社区,以极具侵略性的作品激起了大众对当代艺术的讨论。

Mr Doodle的创作媒介不限于画布,在平面设计和插画背景的影响下 ,家具、地铁、书籍、衣物等都可以被他的笔触转化为创作的平面。 Mr Doodle与多数紧贴世代脉搏的艺术家一样,除了本职,还试图对一些品牌进行艺术跨界,包括Fendi、阿迪达斯、三星和MTV。但目的却不尽然相似,对Mr Doodle而言,这些项目或创作近乎一种深切的强迫症,以扩张和分享他对Doodle World的愿景。同时作为一种释放自我或冥想的方式, 过程流畅又治愈,以一种未经计算和过度思考的冲劲毫不犹豫地进行,用强韧的耐力把我们身处的次元与他的世界产生链接。到底寻求的是有发散性的惊奇、疯狂和希望的感觉,同时寻求更深入地了解自身在宇宙中的位置。


“我一直试图创造一种可以与世界各地的人联系并紧紧吸引他们的通用涂鸦语言。”——Mr Doodle

Mr Doodle近期主要的展览包括:《Mr Doodle 逆袭苏富比》,苏富比,香港(2019);《Doodle Kyoto》(2019),Shimadai Gallery,京都,日本;《Doodle Tokyo》(2019),东京代官山,东京,日本;《Doodle World》(2018),ARA Art Center,首尔,韩国。

Mr Doodle (B. 1994)

Mr Doodle (B. 1994)

Samuel Cox, AKA Mr Doodle, was born in Kent, England, in 1994. He attended the University of West England, Bristol, where he studied illustration in 2012. During his time, he created his Mr Doodle persona, constructing a whole new visual phenomenon: his Doodle World, where he manifests his vision of the world, producing dense clusters of characters, objects, and patterns that grow and multiply relentlessly.

Mr Doodle began to garner recognition in the art world in 2015 and has since seen a meteoric rise in interest in his work. He stands at the forefront of a new art wave, taking the online art community by storm with a mass social media following. Truly a millennial artist, he is a voice of his generation, with work that provokes discourse on what we consider fine art today.

With a graphic design and illustration background, Mr Doodle’s works transcend beyond the canvas, invading furniture, subways, books, clothing, and more. Like other artists of his generation, he also explored a number of collaborations with iconic brands, including Fendi, Adidas, Samsung,and MTV. But where Mr Doodle separates himself is in his sense of purpose: a deep and obsessive compulsion to expand and share his vision of his doodle world. As a form of release or meditation, his process is fluid, therapeutic, uncalculated, and without hesitation, as if channelling directly from his world into ours with great stamina. He ultimately seeks to spread a sense of wonder, madness, and hope whilst seeking a greater understanding of his place in the universe.

“My intention has always been to create a universal doodle language that can relate to and attract people from all over the world.” – Mr Doodle

Recent solo exhibitions include “Mr Doodle Invades Sotheby’s” (2019), Sotheby’s, Hong Kong, China; “Doodle Kyoto” (2019). Shimadai Gallery, Kyoto, Japan; “Doodle Tokyo” (2019), Daikanyama Hillside Forum, Tokyo, Japan; “Doodle World” (2018)., ARA Art Center, Seoul, South Korea.